sorry
hi all, sorry i have been so negligent in posting stuff.......i promise i will start asap.....
The musings of a mad woman with a doughnut obsession!
hi all, sorry i have been so negligent in posting stuff.......i promise i will start asap.....
I have a new favorite food show. We ran across it accidently on a local asian channel. Its called Cooking Showdown (Dotchi No Ryori Show).

Sorry I haven't posted in a while.
If you can't find me I am standing immediately to the right of the baby shower guest of honor. I showed one of my co-workers the picture and he asked: "are you from a prominent Mexican family?". Uh... no. If by prominent he means we throw a lot of parties because there are a lot of us, then ok. If he means prominent as in wealthy socialites...uhh....no. I actually think if you are prominent you get included in the paper in the actual news section of the paper. I think everyone else gets put in the "Sociales" section. Next time I go to Mexicali, which will be soon, i'll ask my aunt and cousin if they paid to be included or they gave the guy a tip because in Mexicali, everyone is always looking to make an extra buck.
We had a small baby shower for Julie and Noah last weekend. It was cute but the boy slept through the whole thing! Here's Noah with my grandmother.


Valentines Day (or as my west
how did a bitchy cynical girl like me end up with such a great guy? He must be using me for my crazy crafting abilities!
My sister Julie’s second son, Noah Riley, was born yesterday and he’s cute and wrinkled and kinda laid back.
I think he realized his time was up and when he heard he was going to be evicted on Friday with a C-section, he decided to arrive on his own terms. We can't quite see who he looks like yet, but my sister lovingly refers to him as a little elf.


"Maybe if i pretend im a newborn again, they'll forget about this new guy!"
Now he’ll have to share the spotlight with his little brother. They say that competition spurs innovation, so now these two boys will have to come up with more fascinating ways to amuse us. Yay for us!
Of course one of the best parts was all the yummy food…..green salad w/ Michelle’s homemade ranch…feta dips and crackers, pizza, egg rolls, fried chicken, cookies, Hawaiian bread, chocolate fondue. These people are serious about food!
What impressed/surprised me was how many cards people made this year. Last year most people walked away with about 2 to 4 cards. I guess people either had a chance to practice during the year or something because it was like a Hallmark factory in my apartment.
Caroline’s "Japanese tree card" was the biggest hit. Way to hold on to your asian roots! (yes i know youre korean). Some people made 2 or three of these cards. Here are two variations of it:

The other big hit was the baby envelope template. I'd been wanting to get the template for a while, and this party gave me the perfect excuse to buy it. I liked how people started adding their own style to them.
Caroline and I met up a few days later to make our own cards.


Surprisingly we were not as productive as the card party participants. But what we lack in productivity we more than made up with pizazz and flair. hehehe just kidding, we were still drunk off the toast we had at the local japanese restaurant (more on that next time i get a picture of this magical toast) and too distracted by the Olympic opening ceremonies. I wonder if they'll be another card party on this scale. Things are getting kinda pricey and I'm too much of a control freak to let people bring their own stuff. Maybe we'll just have small group parties. Any suggestions?